As of January 1, 2014, the current minimum wage in the state of Florida is $7.93 an hour. Florida’s constitution requires a review of the minimum wage that must be determined by September 30 of each year and take effect of January 1 of the following year. Florida’s current minimum wage for tipped employees is $4.91 an hour. If employers choose to pay the tipped minimum wage, they must ensure that tipped employees are paid at the rate of $7.93 (minimum wage).
Florida employers must provide a period of 30 minutes to employees under the age of 18 who work for more than 4 hours continuously. Florida does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide a meal period or breaks to employees 18 years of age or older. If an employer does choose to provide meal period or breaks it usually lasts less than 20 minutes, it must be paid. Breaks lasting 30 minutes or more do not need to be paid, so long as the employee is free to do as they wish during the meal or lunch period.
Florida Leave Laws
Vacation Leave- Florida has no laws requiring employers to provide employees with vacation benefits, either paid or unpaid.
Sick leave- In Florida, employers are not required to provide employees with sick leave, either paid or unpaid. If an employer chooses to provide sick leave benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Holiday Leave- Florida law does not require employers to provide employees with either paid or unpaid holiday leave. In Florida, an employer can require an employee to work holidays.
Jury Duty- An employer may not discharge, penalize, threaten, or otherwise coerce an employee because the employee receives or responds to a summons or serves as a juror.
Voting Leave- Florida law does not require an employer to allow employees time off, paid or unpaid, to vote.
For more information
Contact Us Today:
Toll Free: (855)869-0116